Urban Legends / UMe Announce Soundtrack to the Acclaimed Hip Hop Documentary L.A. Originals on December 4, 2020

(Los Angeles, CA – October 16, 2020) – Following the celebrated premiere this Spring of the documentary L.A. Originals, Urban Legends /UMe unveils the soundtrack to the film on December 4, 2020. An exploration of the culture and landmarks of the chicano and street art movement that cemented revered hip hop photographer Estevan Oriol and tattoo artist Mister Cartoon’s status as behind-the-scenes hip hop legends, L.A. Originals follows the two L.A. natives from their initial meeting in 1992 to becoming the biggest and most influential creative Chicano artists in SoCal street culture, hip hop and beyond. This accompanying soundtrack collects some of the musicians who have been inked by Cartoon and captured on celluloid by Oriol.

Pre-order the soundtrack here: https://UrbanLegends.lnk.to/LAoriginalsPR

Celebrated by New York Times who called the film “part reminiscence and part reclamation”, L.A. Originals profiles Cartoon and Estevan whose career trajectories soared together by their complementary and combined synergy. L.A. Originals focuses on these two creative forces and the veritable who’s who in LA film and hip hop that orbited around them, including Eminem, actor Danny Trejo, artist Shepard Fairy, Kobe Bryant, as well as the artists who appear on the soundtrack.

A fascinating and rhythmic snapshot in hip hop that enveloped Oriol and Cartoon’s world, the music from the film collects some of the biggest tracks by Method Man (“Da Rockwilder”), 50 Cent (“Disco Inferno”), Snoop Dogg (“Gin & Juice”), Gang Starr (“Mass Appeal”), and Public Enemy (“Fight the Power”) and brings them together onto one album.

Track listing:

  1. Onyx “Slam”
  2. Method Man “Da Rockwilder / Album Version (Edited)”
  3. Terror Squad “Lean Back / Album Version (Edited)”
  4. Slick Rick “Children’s Story”
  5. 50 Cent “Disco Inferno”
  6. Public Enemy “Fight The Power”
  7. Gang Starr “Mass Appeal”
  8. Eric B. & Rakim “Juice (Know The Ledge) / Album Version (Explicit)”
  9. Young MC “Bust A Move”
  10. Snoop Dogg “Gin & Juice”
  11. Cypress Hill “Hand on the Pump”

Mobb Deep “Shook Ones Pt. 1”