Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers’ Video For “For Real” Premieres Today, Directed By Adria Petty


Album cover photo by Allan Tannenbaum

The video for “For Real,” the latest previously unreleased single to debut from Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers, is premiering today. The loving video was directed by Tom’s daughter, Adria Petty, and features archival footage and photos as well as intimate, behind-the-scenes moments of Tom and the band. Throughout his storied career, Petty did everything with authenticity—putting the music and his fans first. It is this sentiment that he sings about in the poignant and autobiographical song “For Real.” Watch/share the video HERE.

“For Real” is off The Best Of Everything, out now via Geffen Records/UMe, the first career-spanning collection of Tom Petty’s hits—including songs from his solo projects, songs with The Heartbreakers and essentials from the reformed Mudcrutch. The collection continues to receive widespread critical praise:

“the emotion is irrevocable”—The New York Times

“Petty’s big-picture take on music is perhaps most clearly laid out in ‘For Real,’ a previously unreleased track that serves as the moving/touching finale of the new set. It possesses the relatability and healthy dose of self-effacing humor that frequently defined his songwriting.” —Los Angeles Times

 “This hits collection is a singular treasure trove for the more casual fan, although the inclusion of two previously unreleased tracks, including the moving ‘For Real,’ and a superior remastering job ensures that serious Petty aficionados will pick it up, too.”—Variety

As a supplement to last year’s critically lauded box set An American Treasure, The Best Of Everything was born from Petty’s long-term desire to release what he believed to be his strongest material across his four decades of songwriting. His family and band-mates rallied together once again to fulfill his dream. Rather than in chronological order, the special cross-label collection was sequenced as a hard-hitting playlist giving the entire catalog equal prominence.


Disc 1

1.  Free Fallin’

2.  Mary Jane’s Last Dance                                                                                           

3.  You Wreck Me                                                                                                         

4.  I Won’t Back Down                                                                                                 

5.  Saving Grace                                                                                                            

6.  You Don’t Know How It Feels                                                                                

7.  Don’t Do Me Like That                                                                                            

8.  Listen To Her Heart                                                                                                  

9.  Breakdown                                                                                                               

10.  Walls (Circus)                                                                                                        

11.  The Waiting

12.  Don’t Come Around Here No More                                                                      

13.  Southern Accents                                                                                                    

14.  Angel Dream (No. 2)                                                                                              

15.  Dreamville

16.  I Should Have Known It                                                                                         

17.  Refugee                                                                                                                   

18.  American Girl                                                                                                         

19.  The Best Of Everything (Alt. Version)

Disc 2

1.  Wildflowers

2.  Learning To Fly

3.  Here Comes My Girl

4.  The Last DJ

5.  I Need To Know

6.  Scare Easy

7.  You Got Lucky

8.  Runnin’ Down A Dream

9.  American Dream Plan B

10.  Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around (feat. Stevie Nicks)

11.  Trailer

12.  Into The Great Wide Open

13.  Room At The Top

14.  Square One

15.  Jammin’ Me

16.  Even The Losers

17.  Hungry No More

18.  I Forgive It All

19.  For Real | | |