The Black Crowes Drop Unreleased Recording Of Soul Classic Track “99 Pounds”



Box set to be released December 15, 2023 via UMe
Pre-Order HERE


NEW YORK (October 20, 2023) — Today, world-renowned rock band The Black Crowes dropped a new mix of an unreleased recording of the Memphis soul classic song “99 Pounds,” originally recorded by Ann Peebles and written by Don Bryant.  The track is just one of the 14 never-before-released recordings off the forthcoming box set of their chart-topping sophomore album, The Southern Harmony And Musical Companionset for release on December 15 via American Recordings/UMe. 

Stream/listen to “99 Pounds” HERE.

Originally from the catalogue of Memphis soul singer-songwriter Ann Peebles “99 Pounds” was originally released on Peebles’ 1972 album Straight From the Heart. The Black Crowes’ cover of the admired track is a classic Rock & Roll take on a Southern Soul ballad. Listen to Chris Robinson talk about the recording of the song HERE

Listen to Chris and Rich Robinson alongside producer George Drakoulias discuss the making of The Southern Harmony And Musical Companion in an exclusive conversation HERE

The Southern Harmony And Musical Companion entered the US Billboard album chart at No. 1 upon release in 1992, was named after a post-Civil War southern hymnal, and is home to some of the band’s biggest hits, including “Remedy,” “Sting Me,” and “Thorn in My Pride” which were #1 on the Billboard Main Stream Rock Airplay chart for a combined total of 21 weeks. Rich and Chris Robinson, alongside producer George Drakoulias, revisited the archives for the instant classic album and created a special super deluxe edition featuring unreleased studio recordingsrare B-sides, a live performance from Sam Houston Coliseum in Houston, TX, on February 6, 1993, and a newly remastered album from the original 1/4″ production master. Highlights for the forthcoming boxset include 14 unreleased recordings, including “99 Pounds” and a previously unreleased studio recording of “Miserable.” 

At the end of the Southern Harmony and Musical Companion recording sessions in early 1992, the band performed live on the famed Southern Tracks Studio floor in Atlanta, GA, on January 4, 1992. The session was captured by a film crew and, true to The Black Crowes form, turned into a party. These never-before-released until now, live studio recordings feature five songs, including their cover of Ry Cooder’s “Boomer’s Story.” Also included in the super deluxe edition, Southern Harmony Live, featuring all the tracks off the album, performed live in Houston, TX, on February 6, 1993. This legendary and much-bootlegged show has now been mixed from the 24-track tapes and is available alongside the original album, which has been remastered from the 1/4″ production master.

The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion is available for pre-order now on stunning 4LP, 3CD, 2 CD, and 1LP formats, which will be released on December 15, 2023. An exclusive, limited-edition “Remedy” Lyric T-shirt or Trucker Hat will also be available as Fan Packs bundled with the 1LP in the Black Crowes official store HERE A super deluxe digital audio is also available to preorder. Fans who preorder the digital super deluxe will immediately receive a new mix of the Memphis soul classic song “99 Pounds.” 

Pre-order The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion HERE.



LP1- The Southern Harmony & Musical Companion 
1. Sting Me (Side A)
2. Remedy (Side A)
3. Thorn In My Pride (Side A)
4. Bad Luck Blue Eyes Goodbye (Side A)
5. Sometimes Salvation (Side A)
6. Hotel Illness (Side B)
7. Black Moon Creeping (Side B)
8. No Speak No Slave (Side B)
9. My Morning Song (Side B)
10. Time Will Tell (Side B)

LP2- More Companions: Unreleased, Outtakes and B-Sides 
1. 99 Pounds (Side C)
2. Miserable (Side C)
3. Rainy Day Women No 12 & 35 (Side C)
4. Boomer’s Story (Side C)
5. Darling of The Underground Press (Side C)
6. Sting Me (Slow) (Side D)
7. Bad Luck Blue Eyes, Goodbye (Side D)
8. Sometimes Salvation (Side D)
9. Black Moon Creeping (Side D)

LP3- Southern Harmony Live: February 6, 1993 (Houston, TX) 
1. No Speak No Slave (Side A)
2. Sting Me (Side A)
3. My Morning Song (Side A)
4. Jam (Side B)
5. Thorn in My Pride (Side B)

LP4- Southern Harmony Live: February 6, 1993 (Houston, TX) 
1. Bad Luck Blue Eyes Goodbye (Side C)
2. Black Moon Creeping (Side C)
3. Hotel Illness (Side C)
4. Sometimes Salvation (Side D)
5. Remedy (Side D)

Photo Credit: Mark Seliger

About The Black Crowes
In 1990, when journalists were lamenting the death of rock, as cheesy pop and hair metal dominated the charts,Atlanta’s Black Crowes gave the genre a swift and much needed kick in the ass with Shake Your Money Maker. Fueled by singles “Jealous Again,” “Twice As Hard,” “She Talks To Angels,” and the break-through cover of Otis Redding’s “Hard To Handle,” the band immediately took the rock world by storm, topping Rolling Stone’s “Best New American Band Readers Poll” in late 1990. The Black Crowes went on to release eight studio and four live albums, selling in the tens of millions along the way; they sold out shows around the world; had legendary guitarist JimmyPage join as a member; got kicked off a tour with ZZ Top for insulting the sponsor; got screwed by bad record deals;got married and divorced, fought amongst themselves and against the rest of the world. In other words, they’ve done everything a legendary rock group should do.

Follow The Black Crowes:
Official Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter