Meredith Brooks Comes Into Clear Focus With Digital-Only Upgrade Of Hit Album Blurring The Edges

Los Angeles, CA – January 20, 2023 – Today, Capitol/UMe releases a digital-only Expanded Edition of Meredith Brooks’ groundbreaking major-label debut album, May 1997’s Blurring The Edges. Fueled by the electrifying No. 2 hit single “Bitch,” Blurring The Edges has also been certified as 3x platinum worldwide. The 18-track Expanded Edition features the original 12-song Blurring The Edges album plus six bonus tracks consisting of three live songs, one remix, and two additional tracks that were previously unavailable for digital download or streaming. Listen to Blurring The Edges – Expanded Edition HERE.

Meredith Brooks readily staked her claim as an artist to watch with Blurring The Edges, a multifaceted album with an even-dozen tracks that balance the assertive individuality of “Bitch,” with the sultry but cautious hopefulness of “What Would Happen” and the slow-burning declarative buildup of “Stop.” Produced by David Ricketts (Sheryl Crow, Robbie Robertson) and Geza X (Josie Cotton, Magnapop), Blurring The Edges also made sure to shine a well-deserved spotlight on Brooks’ guitar-playing prowess, something that ultimately landed her on the cover of Guitar Player magazine a few years later — in turn making her one of the few female artists to have done so up to that time. The gnarly tone Brooks achieves on “Shatter” and the fierce guitar solo she performs on “Birthday” handily prove the point.

Blurring The Edges, which peaked at No. 22 on the U.S. Billboard 200 and is 1x platinum-certified in the U.S. by the RIAA, also made the Top 10 album charts in nine other countries across the globe. Not only that, but Blurring the Edges was certified as 2x platinum in Canada and has been certified gold in six other countries (Spain, Austria, Norway, Netherlands, Switzerland, and Belgium). The album’s aforementioned lead single, “Bitch,” made a major chart impact upon its release, ultimately reaching No. 2 on the U.S. Hot 100 and No. 1 on the U.S. Top 40 Mainstream chart, and it also hit the Top 10 in 10 other countries. “Bitch” was certified 1x gold by the RIAA and scored one platinum and three other gold certifications around the world, and it was also nominated for two Grammy Awards, one for Best Female Rock Vocal Performance and one for Best Rock Song, in 1998. The album’s second single, “What Would Happen,” reached No. 15 on the U.S. Top 40 Mainstream, and its third single, “Stop,” made it to No. 40 on the U.S. Top 40 Mainstream.

Purchase Meredith Brooks’Blurring The Edges – Expanded Edition HERE: meredithbrooks


1. I Need

2. Bitch

3. Somedays

4. Watched You Fall

5. Pollyanne

6. Shatter

7. My Little Town

8. What Would Happen

9. It Don’t Get Better

10. Birthday

11. Stop

12. Wash My Hands

13. Little Slice [Bonus Track]

14. Every Time She Walks Away [Bonus Track]

15. I Need – Crusty Mix [Bonus Track]

16. Bitch – Live In Germany [Bonus Track]

17. What Would Happen – Live In Germany [Bonus Track]

18. Wash My Hands – Live In Germany [Bonus Track]