James Brown’s ‘Say It Live and Loud: Live in Dallas 08.26.68’ expanded for 50th anniversary vinyl debut





Commemorative Vinyl and Digital Edition Adds Two Previously Unreleased Recordings



Los Angeles – September 7, 2018 – On August 26, 1968, two weeks after releasing his civil rights anthem, “Say It Loud – I’m Black And I’m Proud,” James Brown recorded his concert at Dallas, Texas’ Memorial Auditorium. First released on CD in 1998, Brown’s Say It Live and Loud: Live in Dallas 08.26.68 album will make its vinyl debut in an expanded 2LP 50th Anniversary Edition, to be released October 12 by Republic/UMe. The album’s new, expanded digital edition will be released on the same date.


Starting today, James Brown’s previously unreleased performance of “That’s Life” from the Dallas concert is available for streaming and for immediate download with digital album preorder. Preorder Say It Live and Loud: Live in Dallas 08.26.68: https://UMe.lnk.to/SayItLiveAndLoudPR


“From touchstone to newborn, from bop-inflected Maceo on the piss-break instrumental to born-again JB on the climax medley, breakneck intensity for the ages.” – Robert Christgau


Say It Live and Loud: Live in Dallas 08.26.68 captures James Brown and his band laying it down onstage in the heat of a tumultuous summer, just months after the assassinations of Martin Luther King Jr. and Robert Kennedy, and on the same night the turbulent Democratic National Convention opened in Chicago. The album features the first-ever live recordings of “Say It Loud – I’m Black And I’m Proud,” which Brown performed twice. The new 2LP vinyl edition add two previously unreleased recordings, “That’s Life” and “The Popcorn,” as well as an updated essay by James Brown’s former tour manager, Alan Leeds. An essay by Public Enemy’s Chuck D, written for the album’s 1998 CD package, is also included.


Recorded August 7, 1968 and rush released on August 14, James Brown’s “Say It Loud – I’m Black And I’m Proud” rose to the top of Billboard’s R&B chart, reaching No. 1 on October 5, 1968 and holding the top spot for six weeks. The single also peaked in the Top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart.


“James Brown singlehandedly took a lost and confused nation of people and bonded them with a fix of words, music and attitude,” recalls Chuck D in his liner notes essay for Say It Live and Loud: Live in Dallas 08.26.68. “‘Say It Loud – I’m Black And I’m Proud’ was the phrase that prepared me for the third grade, 1969, and the rest of my life.”


James Brown: Say It Live and Loud: Live in Dallas 08.26.68 (50th Anniversary Edition)


Side 1

  1. Show Introduction
  2. If I Ruled The World
  3. James Brown Thanks
  4. Introduction To Say It Loud – I’m Black And I’m Proud
  5. Say It Loud – I’m Black And I’m Proud
  6. I Guess I’ll Have To Cry, Cry, Cry
  7. That’s Life (previously unreleased)
  8. Kansas City


Side 2

  1. The Popcorn (previously unreleased)
  2. Soul Pride
  3. Tighten Up
  4. Suds


Side 3

  1. Introduction To Star Time!
  2. Licking Stick – Licking Stick
  3. Cold Sweat
  4. There Was A Time


Side 4

  1. Medley: Try Me / Lost Someone / Bewildered
  2. Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag
  3. I Got The Feeling
  4. Maybe The Last Time
  5. I Got You (I Feel Good)
  6. Please, Please, Please
  7. I Can’t Stand Myself (When You Touch Me)
  8. Finale: Cold Sweat / I Got The Feeling (Reprise) / Say It Loud – I’m Black And I’m Proud