BEASTIE BOYS Limited Anniversary Edition Colored Vinyl To Be Released On October 4th

Paul’s Boutique, Ill Communication + Root Down EP and

To The 5 Boroughs



Los Angeles, CA ­– August 16, 2019 ­– On October 4, 2019, a series of limited edition colored vinyl will be released to mark the anniversaries of Beastie Boys’ Paul’s Boutique (30th anniversary), Ill Communication (25th anniversary), including the Root Down EP, and To The 5 Boroughs (15th anniversary). All versions are pressed on 180gram vinyl and can be pre-ordered here.


Paul’s Boutique 30th Anniversary (2LP Violet Colored Vinyl):

To mark the 30th anniversary of Beastie Boys’ 1989 landmark second album, Paul’s Boutique will be released as a 2LP set pressed on standard black vinyl as well as limited edition violet colored vinyl.


Recorded in Los Angeles with a sample-based Dust Brothers production, Paul’s Boutique marked a giant creative leap forward for Adrock, Mike D and MCA. Ranking high on critic’s lists including Pitchfork’s “Top 100 Albums of the 1980s,” Time Magazine’s “100 Greatest Albums of All TIME” and Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Albums of All Time,” Paul’s Boutique went on to sell over 2 million albums. 


Ill Communication 25th Anniversary (2LP Silver Metallic Colored Vinyl) + Root Down EP (Orange, Red, Blue, Green Colored Vinyl):

Beastie Boys’ multi-platinum selling album Ill Communication will be released as a limited edition, 2LP set pressed on silver-metallic colored vinyl. There will also be multiple limited edition vinyl pressings of Root Down EP, available as orange, red, blue and green, that will be randomly distributed and sold separately.


Released in 1994, Beastie Boys’ fourth studio album Ill Communication debuted at No. 1 and was an unstoppable force, pervading every aspect of pop culture.


Its charge to the top of the charts was led by “Sabotage” and its legendary Spike Jonze/Nathanial Hornblower ’70s TV police drama tribute, as Rolling Stone dubbed Ill Communication 1994’s “soundtrack for summer.” Crowds and critics alike were floored by highlights “Sure Shot,” “Root Down” and “Get It Together,” as Vibe—in the magazine’s first cover story on a white artist–hailed Beastie Boys as “perhaps the most consistently innovative musicians to emerge out of hip hop.” It was a claim that Ill Communication has justified for years to come, and 25 years later Ill Communication’s impact has resonated with generation after generation.


Shortly after, Beastie Boy’s released the Root Down EP featuring the original album version of “Root Down” off Ill Communication, plus several remix versions. Also included are seven live tracks from their 1995 European winter tour.


To The 5 Boroughs 15th Anniversary (2LP Blue Colored Vinyl):

Beastie Boys’ self-produced dedication to their home state of New York, To The 5 Boroughs, celebrates its 15th anniversary with a 2LP, limited edition blue vinyl pressing.


Released in 2004, the platinum selling To The 5 Boroughs hit No. 1 on the Billboard 200, Top Rap Albums, Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums, Top Current Albums, Rap Album Sales and Top Album Sales charts. The album features a steady mix of deep pop culture references in tracks such as “Shazam!” and “Ch-Check It Out,” as well as more serious social and political issues with “Right Right Now Now,” “It Takes Time To Build” and “An Open Letter To NYC.” Rolling Stone stated “To The 5 Boroughs is an exciting, astonishing balancing act: fast, funny and sobering, while Pitchfork proclaimed, the album’s easy air speaks to veteran, nothing-to-lose attitude of both the city and the group.”




Paul’s Boutique (2LP)


A1          To All The Girls  

A2          Shake Your Rump            

A3          Johnny Ryall      

A4          Egg Man             

B1          High Plains Drifter           

B2          The Sounds Of Science  

B3          3-Minute Rule   

B4          Hey Ladies         

C1          5-Piece Chicken Dinner  

C2          Looking Down The Barrel Of A Gun          

C3          Car Thief             

C4          What Comes Around      

C5          Shadrach            

D1          Ask For Janice   

B-Boy Bouillabaisse        

D2a        59 Chystie Street             

D2b        Get On The Mic

D2c        Stop That Train 

D2d        A Year And A Day            

D2e        Hello Brooklyn  

D2f         Dropping Names             

D2g        Lay It On Me      

D2h        Mike On The Mic            

D2i         A. W. O. L




Ill Communication (2LP)


A1        Sure Shot       

A2        Tough Guy     

A3        B-Boys Makin’ With The Freak Freak

A4        Bobo On The Corner 

A5        Root Down     

B1        Sabotage        

B2        Get It Together           

B3        Sabrosa          

B4        The Update    

B5        Futterman’s Rule       

C1       Alright Hear This        

C2       Eugene’s Lament       

C3       Flute Loop      

C4       Do It   

C5       Ricky’s Theme

D1       Heart Attack Man       

D2       The Scoop     

D3       Shambala       

D4       Bodhisattva Vow        

D5       Transitions      



Root Down EP (Vinyl)

A1        Root Down (Free Zone Mix)  

A2        Time To Get Ill           

A3        Heart Attack Man       

A4        The Maestro   

A5        Sabrosa          

A6        Root Down (PP Balloon Mix)

B1        Root Down (LP)         

B2        Flute Loop      

B3        Time For Livin’

B4        Something’s Got To Give



Root Down EP CD

  1. Root Down (Free Zone Mix)        
  2. Root Down (LP)   
  3. Root Down (PP Balloon Mix)      
  4. Time To Get Ill     
  5. Heart Attack Man 
  6. The Maestro         
  7. Sabrosa    
  8. Flute Loop
  9. Time For Livin’     
  10. Something’s Got To Give


To The 5 Boroughs (2LP)


A1        Ch-Check It Out         

A2        Right Right Now Now

A3        3 The Hard Way        

A4        It Takes Time To Build           

B1        Rhyme The Rhyme Well       

B2        Triple Trouble 

B3        Hey Fuck You

B4        Oh Word?      

C1       That’s It That’s All      

C2       All Lifestyles   

C3       Shazam!         

C4       An Open Letter To NYC        

D1       Crawlspace    

D2       The Brouhaha

D3       We Got The